Smoky Bacon Risotto

I’m a bit obsessed with making risotto, and this latest version is my favourite!

Ingredients

  • Olive oil
  • Vegetable bouillon/ stock cubes
  • Smoked bacon rashers
  • Onion, finely chopped
  • Garlic, crushed
  • Risotto rice (e.g. Arborio)
  • Parmesan, grated/sliced
  • Tomato puree
  • Paprika (optional)
  • Salt & pepper
  1. I began by cutting the rashers of bacon into small pieces, and frying them in the bottom of a large pan with a little olive oil
  2. While the bacon was frying, I added a few spoonfuls of bouillon powder to a second pan full of boiling water. Stock cubes or any other type of stock would also work well. I don’t measure my water for risotto, but you’ll want an entire pan full. Don’t worry, you can easily add more if necessary!
  3. Once the bacon was cooked, I added finely chopped onion.
  4. After letting the onion fry for a few moments, I added the garlic, and waited a little longer until the onion was nice and soft.
  5. I turned the heat down a little, and added the rice, stirring until it was completely coated with the remainder of the oil.
  6. Then came the time-consuming bit- adding the stock bit by bit. I added a single ladleful at a time, and stirred the rice until it was absorbed before adding the next ladleful.
  7. After about twenty minutes or half an hour (or thereabouts) the rice should start to develop a nice creamy consistency. Be careful not to let it get too soft and soggy!
  8. When I felt that the risotto was almost ready, I added a handful of grated parmesan- I actually use a vegetable peeler for mine; I prefer it to finely grated cheese.
  9. I then added a final ladleful of water and stirred until it was absorbed.
  10. Next, I stirred in a few tablespoonfuls of tomato puree and left it to heat up again for a few minutes.
  11. All that was left was to add seasoning! Paprika would work well for an extra smoky flavour, but unfortunately I’d run out.
Leave a Reply

